New South Wales: Quoll Headquarters - 164 hectares - Steve Haslam

type your text for first image here

Victoria: Witchwood - 9.1 hectares - Jill Redwood

type your text for second image here

Queensland: The Roost - 39.75 hectares - Lynn Childs

type your text for third image here

Tasmania: Lyn and Geoff's Refuge - 10 hectares - Lyn and Geoff Murray

type your text for 4th image here

Western Australia: Tippaburra Valley - 2470 hectares - Buddy Kent

type your text for 5th image here

New South Wales: Falls Forest Retreat - 80 hectares - Mary White

type your text for 6th image here

Victoria: Wingura - 2.5 hectares - Suzanne and John Brandenberger

type your text for 7th image here

Queensland: Cooper Creek Wilderness - 66.74 hectares - Prue Hewett

type your text for 8th image here

Private Land Conservation Grants 2014 Round PDF Print E-mail

The 2014 Funding Round

Through the 2014 NSW PLCG program 32 Category 1, 13 Category 2 and four Category 3 projects were awarded a total in excess of $300,000 in funding for landholders to carry out conservation works on their land over the next three years. Several Wildlife Land Trust members were fortunate enough to be among these recipients:

  • Sharyn Munro of WLT sanctuary Skywood Springs, awarded Category 1 funding to complete conservation works on her land;
  • Sandra Heuston of WLT sanctuary Soul of a Tree, awarded Category 1 funding for conservation works over the next two years;
  • Mikla Lewis of WLT sanctuary Rosemont, awarded Category 3 funding to facilitate annual Wattle Day events for the next three years; and
  • Marie Wynan of WLT sanctuary Edala on behalf of the Wombat protection Society of Australia (of which several WLT members are involved), awarded Category 3 to produce an educational wombat documentary.


Funding opportunities were tiered depending on the conservation mechanisms in effect at each property (e.g. landholders with on-title in-perpetuity protection such as Voluntary Conservation Agreements were eligible for $5,000 per year, whereas those with Wildlife Land Trust agreements could apply for up to $2,000 per year provided other members of the community benefit from training), the program's success has seen it expand interstate, with the announcement of successful recipients from the inaugural Victorian program round set to occur in the coming months.


With the funding provided set to be expended on works such as bush regeneration, interpretive signage and the control of invasive fauna and flora, the Private Land Conservation Grants are a highly effective method of delivering funding to support the on-ground biodiversity works of committed landholders. Following the provision of grants for the 2014 round, the PLCG has now distributed more than $1 million in funding to 266 on-ground conservation projects across NSW.


2014 NSW Private Land Conservation Recipients:

Category 1:

  • Mark and Margaret Baker of 'Banksia View' in Winmalee
  • David Brunckhorst of 'Tilbuster North' Armidale
  • Garry Daly of 'Daly-Nugent Gaia Research' in Tapitallee
  • Leigh Davison of 'Chop Wood Carry Water Cooperative - Dharmananda' in The Channon
  • Wendy Downes of 'Viridian' via Murwillumbah
  • John Eggert in Beechwood
  • Todd Fergusson of 'Moreton Bay South' in Dunedoo
  • Rex and Susan Filson of 'Leyton Wildlife Refuge' in Booral
  • Ronald Finch of 'Selby' in Rankins Springs
  • Philip Greenwood in Craven
  • Gosford City Council working at McMasters Beach and Kincumber
  • Cliff Harris of 'Gurrabee' in Loadstone
  • Ralph & Barbara Harris of 'Brushwood' in Tumbi Umbi
  • Sandra Heuston of 'Soul of a Tree' in Rosebank
  • Barbara Holloway of 'Blue Bucket' in Murringo Gap
  • Esma Holt of in Narara
  • Brian and Ruth Hopkins of 'Hopontop' in Fountaindale
  • Geoffrey and Ann Long of 'Bolwarra' in Foxground
  • Albert Martin of 'Rubyvale' in Tumbarumba
  • Janet Mayer of 'Wodi Wodi' in Foxground
  • John Millington of 'Baradine' in Bucca Wauka
  • Narelle and John Moody-Boyd of 'Crookshanks' in Cooma
  • Patrick Morrisey of 'Habitat' in Goonengerry
  • Sharyn Munro of 'Skywood Springs' in Singleton
  • John Prior of 'Cedar Ridge' in Farrants Hill
  • Alexandra Seddon of 'Pambula Waterbird Sanctuary' in Pambula
  • Derek Skingle 'Sandy Pinch' in Goolmangar
  • Bob and Rosemary Spiller of 'Woodlands' in Gunning
  • Kimlyn Templeton of 'Bumbi' in Bumbalong
  • Rosie Tongmar in Fernleigh
  • Erwin and Adrienne Weber of 'Whipbird Gully' in Hopkins Creek
  • Martin Westbrooke of 'Nanya Station' via Wentworth


Category 2 

  • Lorraine and Christopher Andersons in Caparra via Wingham
  • Dianne Bayliss of 'River Cottage' in Maryvale
  • Dennis Bryant of 'Bluey's Run' in Windellama
  • David Carter of 'Cottle Wolly' in Crookwell
  • Roger Davis of 'Merriwinga' in Bermagui
  • Michael Gill of 'Ilonka' in Reidsdale
  • Alison Hawkins of 'Allerton' in Lankeys Creek
  • Reginald and Cynthia Hook of 'Bungawarra' in Reids Flat
  • Alan Hunter of 'The Grove' in Muocum
  • David Jurcic of 'Brayson's Run Wildlife Refuge' in Bywong
  • Ceri MacLeod of 'Miyan' in Wallaroo
  • Peter Madden of 'Bombah Point Eco Cottages' in Bulahdelah
  • John Porter and Cristina Ricci in Woodford


Category 3

  • Forbes North Public School to create a biodiversity garden
  • Tweed Shire Council to focus on biodiversity conservation for private landholders
  • Wombat Protection Society of Australia to create an educational film about wombats, diseases, habitat loss and their behaviour.
  • Wattle Day at 'Rosemount' to put on field days about wattles – the heart and soul of our woodlands.


Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 February 2016 00:09

Donate Today!


Apply Here Now